Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Home: What's New!!

Home page

What's New

What's New at GV Health!  

Check out what we have added to our Collection recently.

New Print Books - click on the image to link to the Library Catalogue

New E-Books - click on the image to link to the Library Catalogue

New Book Lists

New Book Lists

   December 2021

November 2021

October 2021

September 2021 

 

Please contact the Library if you wish to reserve any of our new books.     

New Podcasts

Harrison's Podclass

Symptom to Diagnosis Podcast 

Run the List Podcast

 

**  The above links will work on the GVH network - offsite users will have to logon to Access Medicine to view the new content.

New Videos

Shoulder Exam  (14 mins)

Knee Exam  (13 mins)

**  The above links will work on the GVH network - offsite users will have to logon to Access Medicine to view the new content.

Book of the Month

Patrice L. Spath, 5th ed.  HPA/AUPHA, 2022

 

Applying Quality Management in Healthcare: A Systems Approach examines the real-world tools and techniques necessary for improving systems that affect patient care outcomes. 

This updated edition features a new chapter on three organizational characteristics that advance success in quality management: continuous improvement, high reliability, and accountability. Throughout, the book emphasizes the role of leadership in all aspects of quality.  Management concepts are supported by real-life examples from different settings to further readers’ understanding. Other new content in this edition includes: strategies for creating an organizational culture that supports ongoing improvement; data measurement techniques for analyzing inpatient and outpatient performance; regulations affecting quality activities in hospitals and other healthcare facilities; and external forces, such as a pandemic, that require a greater focus on systems. 

The new edition of this primary Australian resource prepares undergraduate nursing students to become skills-competent nurses, as well as providing practicing nurses with key reference content.   This book assists students to link theory to practice, developing their clinical skills and underpinning industry requirements.  

Written by experts this book is authorized by the Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nurses Society(WOCN) and contains evidence-based guidelines for continence care.  New to this edition is:

  •  chapter on professional practice
  • chapter on incontinence-associated dermatitis (IAD)
  • content on the fundamentals of bladder and bowel management, and advance pelvic health considerations for the APRN continence nurse
  • content on special populations - bariatrics, morbidly obese, patients with disabilities

The fifth edition of Mayhall’s Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Prevention is thoroughly revised and covers all aspects of healthcare-associated infections and their prevention and remains the most comprehensive reference available in this field. Every type of healthcare-associated (nosocomial) infection is included  providing surveillance, prevention, and control information. Newly included are 2 chapters on antimicrobial stewardship and new user-friendly features including bulleted key points at the beginning of each chapter; full reference lists in every chapter; more figures and illustrations; and updated charts and graphs throughout. 

 

Written by clinical academics from Australia, UK, USA, and Switzerland, this book introduces readers to the principles and practice of systematic reviews and meta-analysis. It covers the various steps involved in systematic reviews including development of a focused question and the strategy for conducting a comprehensive literature search, identifying studies addressing the underlying question, assessment of heterogeneity and the risk of bias in the included studies, data extraction, and the approach to meta-analysis. Crucial issues such as selecting the model for meta-analysis, generating and interpreting forest plots, assessing the risk of publication bias, cautions in the interpretation of subgroup and sensitivity analyses, rating certainty of the evidence using GRADE guideline, and standardized reporting of meta-analysis (PRISMA) are covered in detail. 

This text is invaluable for clinicians treating SUDs in a variety of settings—from examining rooms to emergency departments, and from hospitals to recovery facilities.  Completely revised and restructured it represents the cutting edge of research, practice, and policy in substance use disorder (SUD) treatment

Noteworthy additions are the new and substantive sections on public health issues and comorbidities, the expanded coverage of cannabis and the new chapters on digitally delivered therapies and behavioral addictive disorders (e.g., gambling disorder, compulsive internet use). 

First published 50 years ago the new 11th edition of McDonald and Avery's Dentistry for the Child and Adolescent,  provides the latest diagnostic and treatment recommendations for infants, children, and adolescents. The book includes topics ranging from paediatric examination and radiographic techniques to development and morphology of the primary teeth, dental caries, dental materials, and local anaesthesia.   

Key features of the text include:

  • Comprehensive coverage of pediatric dentistry including treatment of deep caries, prosthodontics, occlusion, trauma, gingivitis and periodontal disease, cleft lip and palate, facial esthetics, and medically compromised patients.
  • More than 1,000 illustrations show oral structures and conditions along with dental procedures.
  • Five major areas of focus that help you organize your thinking and practice around key clinical concepts: diagnoses, caries and periodontology, pain control, oral growth and development, and management of special medical issues.

New Podcast Series

Run the List is a popular and established podcast for the medical and healthcare education and training communities. It has earned numerous excellent reviews from listeners for its comprehensive and high-yield discussions on core medicine topics. Episodes are arranged and released in the form of specialty blocks, making it an excellent resource for all those taking care of patients on the internal medicine ward, whether during clerkship, elective, or general training. Each 20-minute episode takes the listener through the practical aspects of diagnosis and management through an interactive discussion with an expert who has a specific focus in medical education.

The latest one added is listed below - keep an eye out for new episodes, posted every two weeks.

 

22/10/21

 

Therapeutic Guidelines

 

The following practice-changing updates were included in eTG complete in September 2021. 

Antibiotic guidelines:

  • Based on new evidence, residence in a correctional facility has been included as a risk factor for methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) infection.

New MCQ's!

    

1281 new internal medicine MCQ's have recently been added to Access Medicine.   Test your knowledge by clicking on the below link. 

Harrison's Self Assessment and Board Review (20th ed., 2021)

**  You will require a MyAccess logon to access this content from offsite.  

New on ClinicalKey

New Clinical Overviews on CK

Clinical Overviews summarise information about disease epidemiology, risk factors, clinical manifestations, treatments and more.  They also provide links to specialty-specific answers and related drugs.

Updated Clinical Overviews – Selected Topics

**Access to the below topics offsite requires an OpenAthens logon.

Updated 30/11/21

New Alert Lists.

New Alert List!

The following list has been added to our Journal Alert Service this month.  Please contact the Library if you wish to have any of the Alerts added for you.

‚Äč

Contact Details

Building I, GV Health, Graham St, Shepparton, 3630

Ph.:  (03) 58322315   Fax.:  (03) 58213112 

E-mail:  library@gvhealth.org.au