Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Home: Referencing

Home page

Referencing

Referencing    

Make Referencing easy by learning how to use RefWorks which is available at GV Health.  We also list links to additional free referencing tools. 

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a reference management service that collects and organizes references in one central workspace allowing users to share and collaborate with others and write papers with authoritative citations.

RefWorks Brochure (PDF)

Link to Refworks

Link to RefWorks via the below link:

  • New RefWorks   (All users)     **  First-time users must create a personal RefWorks account  - see the below instructions.   

How to setup an account at GV Health

Follow the below instructions to create a RefWorks account - please note this must be done at work.

  1. Click on the above New RefWorks link and click on the “Create Account” button.
  2. Enter your email address (you can use any valid email address), create a password and click “Sign Up”. Your email becomes your login name.
  3. An activation email will be sent to the email address you registered with and you’ll need to validate your account to continue.
  4. Once you click on the link in the activation email, be directed back to RefWorks to enter your name, role and department affiliation.  You’ll also be asked if you’d like to install the “Save to RefWorks” browser bookmarklet (a great way to capture data from web pages!) and if you’d like to install one of our paper writing helpers (Write-N-Cite for Word or RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs).
  5. You’ll be brought directly into your new account and are ready to begin adding your research! 

RefWorks Tutorials

Additional Referencing Tools

Reference Management Software

Endnote Basic

EndNote Basic  is free and can collect, manage, store and share references, and make them available online. EndNote basic does not contain some of the features of the Desktop version; for example, you cannot edit reference types, or edit or download other styles, filters and connection files.

https://endnote.com/product-details/basic/

Zotero

Zotero is a reference management application designed to collect, store, share, manage and cite references.  Zotero is free and open source - there is the cloud based version of Zotero also that can sync to your Zotero Library to allow sharing of references between accounts.

https://www.zotero.org/

 

Online Citation Generators

BibMe

Offers automatic bibliography generation in APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian and many other styles. If you register (for free) you can save bibliographies and share them with others. You can manually enter the reference information, or search for it via the Web.

http://www.bibme.org/

EasyBib 
No copy-pasting of individual citations are needed because the bibliography is generated automatically and it can be formatted in MLA. Paid up subscription is required for APA,Turabian/Chicago style. Citations can be generated for fifty eight types of references.

http://www.easybib.com/


Cite this for me

To create a reference list using Cite This For Me users need to fill in the required information in each box, sort them alphabetically, and download the formatted reference page. Cite This For Me provides formatting not only printed materials and websites, but also for things like podcasts, online videos, and even email correspondence. Free plans save your work for only 7 days. Paid plans are available on monthly or annual subscriptions.

http://www.citethisforme.com/ 

 

Cite Tools within Databases

CINAHL (Ebscohost)

Each record contains a CITE tool that provides the perfectly formatted reference for the article – you can copy and paste it into your bibliography.

TROVE

The National Library of Australia provides access to correct citations  in their TROVE database – look for the Cite This link in the record of the item -   http://trove.nla.gov.au/

 

 

Contact Details

Building I, GV Health, Graham St, Shepparton, 3630

Ph.:  (03) 58322315   Fax.:  (03) 58213112 

E-mail:  library@gvhealth.org.au