Dental: Core Resources

Search across our Full Text Book Collection.

• Dentistry Books - Springer Medical Book Collection

Follow the below instructions to access the books from offsite with your OpenAthens logon. 

1.  Select Log in in the top right corner of the screen
2. Select Access via your Institution
3. Enter  Goulburn Valley Health and search
4. Click on Goulburn Valley Health
5.  Input your OpenAthens logon to gain access

• InTechOpen: Dentistry

  An Open Access Book  Collection with content available on oral diseases,  dental anatomy, and orthodontics. Book chapters are CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

• Histology and embryology for dental hygiene

  Textbook aimed at dental hygiene students - it uses animated images to focus on concepts in histology and embryology. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Australia:

• Dental Board of Australia - Guidelines on infection control.
• National Health and Medical Research Council - Australian Guidelines for the Prevention and Control of Infection in Healthcare (2019)

International:

• American Association of Endodontists - Guidelines & Position Statements.
• American Dental Association (ADA) - ADA Clinical Practice Guidelines.
• Royal College of Surgeons - Clinical Guidelines.
• FDI World Dental Federation - Resources.

• NICE - Oral and Dental Health Guidelines

New Books!!

Click on the image below to be linked to the book via the Library Catalogue.   

Additional books are listed in the Library Catalogue..

Primary Evidence

• EMBASE  (OVID)
• Medline  (OVID)
• PubMed

Federated Search Engine

• Discovery Search Engine  - searches across all GVH E-Resources 

Point of Care

• BMJ Best Practice
• TRIP Database
• Up-To-Date (Anywhere)   
• ClinicalKey   

Keep up-to-date by joining our Alert Service to receive the latest copy of each issue via e-mail. 

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare

• Oral health and dental care in Australia (2022)       
• National Oral Health Plan 2015–2024: performance monitoring report  (2020)

Department of Health, Australia

• Healthy mouths, healthy lives – Australia’s National Oral Health Plan 2015–2024  (2016)

The latest published research is collated bi-monthly - see the below Evidence Updates and contact the Library if you wish to receive a copy of anything listed.

Study of the Month - October 2024

Kong, X., Song, N., Chen, L., & Li, Y. (2024). Non-pharmacological interventions for reducing dental anxiety in pediatric dentistry: a network meta-analysis. BMC Oral Health, 24(1), 1151. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12903-024-04919-x    PDF

This is a list of key Dental Science journals available at GV Health.  Please note: more titles can be located via our Electronic Journals List - see the below links.

• Electronic Journals  Onsite  (GV Health)
• Electronic Journals  Offsite  (Offsite via OpenAthens)

Key Titles

• American Journal of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics 
• Atlas of the Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Clinics of North America
• Biomaterials
• Canadian Journal of Dental Hygiene
• Dental Abstracts
• Dental Assistant
• Dental Clinics of North America
• Dental Materials
• Dental Research Journal
• International Dental Journal
• JADA Foundational Science
• Journal of Dental Hygiene
• Journal of Dental Implants
• Journal of Dental Sciences
• Journal of Dentistry
• Journal of Endodontics
• Journal of Evidence-Based Dental Practice
• Journal of Forensic Dental Sciences
• Journal of Prosthetic Dentistry
• Journal of the American Dental Association
• Journal of the World Federation of Orthodontists
• Pediatric Dental Journal
• Seminars in Orthodontics

Drug Guides

Australian Guides   

• AMH Aged Care Companion  
• AMH Children's Dosing Companion   
• AMH Online  
• Australian don't rush to crush handbook  - content is incorporated in MIMS Online and AusDI
• Australian Injectable Drugs Handbook   

• eMIMS Elite Online   

• RCH Paediatric Injectable Drug Guidelines  

• RWH Pregnancy & Breastfeeding Medicines Guide 
• Therapeutic Guidelines  (eTG)

Global Guides

• DRUGDEX (MICROMEDEX)
• Lexicomp
• Martindale
• Natural Medicines
• Palliative Care Formulary   
• POISINDEX  (MICROMEDEX)  
• Stockley's Drug Interactions
•  TRISSELS in IV Compatability  (MICROMEDEX)

Mobile Apps.

Click here to Register for the MIMS and eTG Apps and find out what other resources you can access via your mobile device.