First Line Emergency Care (FLEC): FLEC

Please check the Library Catalogue for the full list of books available at GV Health.  Below are just a few texts that may be useful for the FLEC course.

Professional Organisations

• Australasian College of Emergency Medicine
• Australian College of Emergency Nursing
• Australian Venom Research Unit
• College of Emergency Nurses Australasia Ltd
• Emergency Nurses Association (USA)

Guidelines

• Australian Clinical Practice Guidelines
• Australian Resuscitation Council
• Austin Health Clinical Toxicology Guidelines
• Best Bets
• Department of Health, Victoria - Emergency Care
• National Asthma Council of Australia
• NICE
• RFDS Clinical Manuals

New Books! 

Bibliographic Databases

• CINAHL Plus
• Cochrane Library
• EMCARE
• JBI Evidence-Based Practice Database
• Discovery

Drug Guides

• AMH Online
• MIMS
• Therapeutic Guidelines
• POISINDEX (Micromedex)

Point of Care

• Up-to-Date
• TRIP

Full Text

• ClinicalKey
• EBSCO Nursing Book Collection
• Springer Medicine and Publc Health Collection

Additonal databases are available on the Library Resources page.

The below key Journals are available at GV Health.  

• Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal
• Australian Journal of Emergency Management
• Canadian Journal of Emergency Nursing
• Emergency Nurse
• Emergency Nurse New Zealand
• EMS World

All the above, plus additional Nursing Journals can be accessed via the Electronic Journals list either onsite or offsite.

Below are higher level Emergency Medicine Texts that may also be useful.  Further key titles are available via our Emergency Medicine Guide.

Click on the image to be taken to the full text links.