Orthopaedics: Core Orthopaedic Resources

New Books

Alert Service

Keep up-to-date by joining our Alert Service to receive the latest copy of each issue via e-mail. 

Primary Evidence Databases

• Cochrane Library 
• EMBASE (OVID)
• Medline  (OVID)
• PubMed

If you are wanting to search all our GVH E-Resources with one search engine use Discovery.  Please be aware that Best Practice is to search databases separately.

• Discovery Search Engine     

Point of Care Databases

• BMJ Best Practice - Orthopaedics
• ClinicalKey Clinical Overviews - Orthopaedics
• Up to Date - Primary Care Sports Medicine 

Drug Guides

Australian Guides   

• AMH Aged Care Companion  
• AMH Children's Dosing Companion   
• AMH Online  
• Australian don't rush to crush handbook  - content is incorporated in MIMS Online and AusDI
• Australian Injectable Drugs Handbook   

• eMIMS Elite Online   

• RCH Paediatric Injectable Drug Guidelines  

• RWH Pregnancy & Breastfeeding Medicines Guide 
• Therapeutic Guidelines  (eTG)

Global Guides

• DRUGDEX (MICROMEDEX)
• Lexicomp
• Martindale
• Natural Medicines
• Palliative Care Formulary   
• POISINDEX  (MICROMEDEX) 
• Renal Drug Database 
• Stockley's Drug Interactions
•  TRISSELS in IV Compatability  (MICROMEDEX)

Websites

• Orthobullets - a free educational resource for orthopaedic surgeons with over 100 guides to surgical procedures, real life case studies and discussions of current literature
• Orthogate - the gateway to the Orthopedic internet for professionals
• OrthoFeed - a blog providing daily updates on digital orthopedics and emerging technology. 
• OrthoBuzz - a blog from JBJS 
• Nailed it Ortho- an orthopaedic surgery site with podcasts, videos and a blog
• AO Trauma NA Journal Club - join monthly discussions with lead authors of recent studies

Study of the Month - April 2025

Terres, M. T., Machado Assis, M. L., Lombardi, R. A., Balthazar da Silveira, C., & Amaral, S. (2025). Adding dexmedetomidne to intra-articular local anesthetics results in prolonged analgesia after knee arthroscopy: s systematic review and meta-analysis. Arthroscopy : the Journal of Arthroscopic & Related Surgery : official publication of the Arthroscopy Association of North America and the International Arthroscopy Association, 41(4), 1061–1069.e10. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.arthro.2024.06.043   PDF

Journals

The following Journals are available at GV Health - links are for onsite access:

• Archives of Orthopaedic and Trauma Surgery
• Archives of Osteoporosis
• Arthroscopy
• Arthroscopy Techniques
• Bone and Joint
• Calcified Tissue International
• Clinical Biomechanics
• Clinics in Sports Medicine
• European Journal of Orthopaedic Surgery & Traumatology
• The Foot
• Foot and Ankle Clinics
• Foot and Ankle Surgery
• Hand Clinics
• International Orthopaedics
• Joint Bone Spine
• Journal of Arthroplasty
• Journal of Arthroscopy and Joint Surgery
• Journal of Bone Oncology
• Journal of Clinical Orthopaedics and Trauma
• Journal of Foot and Ankle Surgery
• Journal of Hand Surgery
• Journal of Orthopaedic Science
• The Knee
• Knee Surgery, Sports Traumatology Arthroscopy
• Operative Techniques in Orthopaedics
• Orthopedic Clinics of North America
• Osteoporosis International
• Seminars in Arthroplasty: JSES
• Sports Medicine

Further titles and offsite access is available via our Electronic Publications list.

Procedure Videos

A variety of Orthopaedic Procedure videos are available via the below links:

• Access Medicine - Orthopaedics - including dislocation, reductions, splinting and arthrocentesis
• ClinicalKey - 60+ procedures including Facet Injection, Lumbar Discectomy and Open Rotator Cuff Repair