Anaesthesia: Core Resources

New Books!

Search across our Full Text Book Collections.

• Anesthesiology  

Follow the below instructions to access the books from offsite with your OpenAthens logon. 

1. Select Log in in the top right corner of the screen
2. Select Access via your Institution
3. Enter  Goulburn Valley Health and search
4. Click on Goulburn Valley Health
5.  Input your OpenAthens logon to gain access

• Anaesthesia  

Offsite access is available by logging on in the top right corner of the screen and selecting the OpenAthens logon option.

Alert Service

Keep up-to-date by joining our Alert Service to receive the latest copy of each issue via e-mail. 

Primary Evidence Databases

• Cochrane Library 
• EMBASE (OVID)
• Medline  (OVID)
• PubMed

If you are wanting to search all our GVH E-Resources with one search engine use Discovery.  Please be aware that Best Practice is to search databases separately.

• Discovery Search Engine     *Updated platform*

Journals

The following Journals are available at GV Health - links are for onsite access:

• Advances in Anesthesia
• Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine
• Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine
• Anaesthesia Reports
• Anesthesia and Pain Medicine 
• Anesthesia Progress
• Anesthesiology Clinics
• Anesthesiology Research and Practice
• Annals of Cardiac Anaesthesia
• Bailliere's Best Practice and Research.  Clinical Anaesthesiology
• BJA Education
• BMC Anesthesiology
• Canadian Journal of Anesthesia
• Case Reports in Anesthesiology
• Current Anesthesiology Reports
• International Journal of Obstetric Anesthesia
• Journal of Anesthesia
• Journal of Anesthesia History
• Journal of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia
• Journal of Clinical Anesthesia
• Journal of Dental Anesthesia and Pain Medicine
• Journal of Pain and Symptom Management
• Journal of Pain Research
• Local and Regional Anesthesia
• Pain Physician
• Techniques in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Management
• Trends in Anaesthesia and Critical Care

Further titles and offsite access is available via our Electronic Publications list.

Drug Guides

Australian Guides   

• AMH Aged Care Companion  
• AMH Children's Dosing Companion   
• AMH Online  
• Australian don't rush to crush handbook  - content is incorporated in MIMS Online and AusDI
• Australian Injectable Drugs Handbook   

• MIMS Online   

• RCH Paediatric Injectable Drug Guidelines  

• RWH Pregnancy & Breastfeeding Medicines Guide 
• Therapeutic Guidelines  (eTG)

Global Guides

• DRUGDEX (MICROMEDEX)
• Lexicomp
• Martindale
• Natural Medicines
• Palliative Care Formulary   
• POISINDEX  (MICROMEDEX)
• Renal Drug Database        
• Stockley's Drug Interactions
•  TRISSELS in IV Compatability  (MICROMEDEX)

Study of the Month -  April  2024

Schnabel, A., Carstensen, V. A., Lohmöller, K., Vilz, T. O., Willis, M. A., Weibel, S., Freys, S. M., & Pogatzki-Zahn, E. M. (2024). Perioperative pain management with regional analgesia techniques for visceral cancer surgery: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Journal of Clinical Anesthesia, 95, 111438. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jclinane.2024.111438    PDF 

Procedure Videos

A variety of Anaesthetic Procedure videos are available via the below links:

• Access Medicine - Nerve blocks
• ClinicalKey - 50+ procedures including Thoracic epidural placement, Laryngeal Mask Airway and  Nerve Blocks 

**  Onsite access only via the above links.  

Point of Care Databases

• BMJ Best Practice - Anaesthesiology
• ClinicalKey Clinical Overviews - Anaesthesia
• Up to Date - Anaesthesiology

Australian   

• Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
• Australian Society of Anaesthetists  

International

• American Academy of Pain Medicine
• American Society of Anesthesiologists
• American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians
• American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine
• Association of Anaesthetists
• Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society 
• New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists
• Royal College of Anaesthetists
• Society for Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology
• World Federation of Societies of Anesthesiologists

• Open Anesthesia - offers online education resources, including summaries, videos and podcasts.
• The Virtual Anaesthesia Textbook -  a collaborative project initiated in Australia but involving many individuals around the globe. It aims to create and maintain, using a familiar 'textbook' style, a comprehensive set of links to all known anaesthesia related internet information.