Diagnostic Imaging: Core Resources

Key titles available at GVH are below - search the E-Journal list for all our Imaging Journals.

• Abdominal Radiology
• Academic Radiology
• Advances in Clinical Radiology
• Annals of Nuclear Medicine
• Emergency Radiology
• European Radiology
• Journal of Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance
• Journal of Echocardiography
• Journal of the American College of Radiology
• Journal of the American Society of Echocardiography
• Journal of Ultrasound
• Magnetic Resonance Imaging Clinics
• Pediatric Radiology
• PET Clinics
• Radiography
• Radiologic Clinics of North America
• Seminars in Roentgenology
• Seminars in Ultrasound, CT and MRI
• Skeletal Radiology

Diagnostic Imaging Pathways - developed in Western Australia by Professor Richard Mendelson and Dr Ravinder Dhillon, DIP is an online suite of evidence-based and consensus -based imaging guidelines and an educational tool. 

Radiology Masters -  is a free online learning resource developed by Dr John Curtis and Dr Daniel Fascia with case base tutorials featuring all imaging modalities

Radiology Masterclass -  features online medical imaging educational resources for medical students, junior doctors and allied health care professionals.  Tutorials with quizzes and galleries are included.

Radiopaedia - a Wikipaedia for diagnostic imaging containing thousands of imaging articles.

StartRadiology -  started by Dutch musculoskeletal radiologist Annelies van der Plas, StartRadiology is a non-profit initiative developed to guide interns through radiology.  Contains tutorials, quizzes and case studies.  

Point-of-Care Databases

• BMJ Best Practice

• TRIP Database

• Up-to-Date (Anywhere)

New Books!!! 

Bibliographic Databases

Australian Databases   

• JBI Evidence-Based Practice Database   

Global Databases

• CINAHL Plus with Full Text 
• Cochrane Library 
• EMBASE (OVID)
• EMCARE (Nursing and Allied Health)
• Medline  (OVID)
• PsycInfo  (OVID)
• PubMed

If you are wanting to search all our GVH E-Resources with one search engine use Discovery.  Please be aware that Best Practice is to search databases separately.

• Discovery Search Engine     *Updated platform*

Search across our Full Text Book Collections.

• Radiology / Diagnostic Imaging Books - Springer Medical Book Collection 

Follow the below instructions to access the books from offsite with your OpenAthens logon. 

1.  Select Log in in the top right corner of the screen
2. Select Access via your Institution
3. Enter  Goulburn Valley Health and search
4. Click on Goulburn Valley Health
5.  Input your OpenAthens logon to gain access

Study of the Month - October 2024

Goodarzy, B., Rahmani, E., Farrokhi, M., Tavakoli, R., Moghadam Fard, A., Ranjbaran Ghaleh, M., Ghalichebaf Yazdi, Y., Amani Beni, R., Ghadirzadeh, E., Afrazeh, F., Alipour Khabir, Y., Alipour Khabir, S., Bakhtiyari, P., Atighi, J., Mahjoubi, M., Momeni, Z., Jalayeri, H., Hosseini, M. H., Hoorshad, B., Tavakoli, M., … Zare Lahijan, L. (2024). Diagnostic Value of Chest Computed Tomography Scan for Identification of Foreign Body Aspiration in Children: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis. Archives of Academic Emergency Medicine, 13(1), e3. https://doi.org/10.22037/aaem.v12i1.2431    PDF

Join our GVH Alert Service and keep up to date with all the Journals in your specialty - complete the below form and return it to the Library to commence receiving alerts.

Australian   

• Australasian Society for Ultrasound in Medicine
• Australasian Sonographers Association
• Australian and New Zealand Society of Nuclear Medicine
• Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation
• Australian Society of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy
• Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists 
• Victorian Society of Nuclear Medicine Technologists

International

• ACR - American College of Radiology
• American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT)
• BIR - British Institute of Radiology
• CAR - Canadian Assocation of Radiologists
• International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine 
• International Society of Radiographers and Radiological Technologists
• International Society of Radiology
• Radiological Society of North America (RSNA)
• RCR - Royal College of Radiologists
• Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonography (SDMS)
• Society of Interventional Radiology (SIR)

Onsite Access via the below links:

• Bowel Obstruction Diagnosis: Utility of X-ray
• Canadian Head CT Rule for Minor Head Injury
• New Orleans Head CT Criteria
• Ottawa Ankle Rule for the Use of X-Ray in Ankle Injury
• Ottawa Foot Rule for the Use of X-Ray in Foot Injury
• Ottawa Knee Rule for use of X Ray in Knee Injury
• Pittsburgh Knee Rule for X-Ray Evaluation of Knee Injury TreeCalc

• RANZCR Guidelines
• ACR Appropriateness Criteria
• Royal College of Radiologists Guidelines