Maternity Care: Core Resources

All books can be found in the Library Catalogue - below are some of the key Obstetric titles available at GV Health.

Australian      

• Pregnancy Care Guidelines -  Department of Health, Australia
• Guidelines and Statements - RANZCOG
• Maternity e-Handbook - Safer Care Victoria
• Clinical Guidelines - Royal Women's Hospital (Melbourne)
• Guidelines - Monash Health

International

• Guidelines - RCOG
• Pregnancy Guidelines - NICE
• Clinical Guidance - ACOG
• Clinical Practice Guidelines - SOGC
• Statements - FIGO

• BJOG - Interviews and conversations from the "British Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology"
• Obstetrics and Gynecology -  Editor's Picks from the Journal
• OB-G in YEG  - Produced by OB/GYN Residents at University of Alberta  
• Obsgynaecritcare - A podcast discussing critical care, anesthesia, and pain medicine in obstetrics and gynecology

Williams Obstetrics Study Guide (25th ed.)    2179 MCQ's available  **

** Registration on the Access Medicine website is required to access the above questions. 

New Books!!!

Stay up-to-date by joining our Journal Alert Service.  Simply complete the below form highlighting the Journals you are interested in and return it to the Library.

Databases

RWH Pregnancy and Breastfeeding Medicines Guide

LactMed - Drugs and Lactation Database (USA)  - The LactMed® database is produced in the US and includes information on the levels of each substance in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. 

Books

Study of the Month - October 2024

Hunt, A., Bonnett, L., Heron, J., Lawton, M., Clayton, G., Smith, G., Norman, J., Kenny, L., Lawlor, D., Merriel, A., & Options Study Collaborative Group (2024). Systematic Review of Clinical Prediction Models for the Risk of Emergency Caesarean Births. BJOG : an International Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, 10.1111/1471-0528.17948. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.1111/1471-0528.17948    PDF

Bibliographic Databases

Australian Databases   

• JBI Evidence-Based Practice Database   

Global Databases

• CINAHL Plus with Full Text 
• Cochrane Library 
• EMBASE (OVID)
• EMCARE (Nursing and Allied Health)
• Medline  (OVID)
• PsycInfo  (OVID)
• PubMed

If you are wanting to search all our GVH E-Resources with one search engine use Discovery.  Please be aware that Best Practice is to search databases separately.

• Discovery Search Engine     *Updated platform*

• American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology
• Archives of Gynecology and Obstetrics
• Australian and New Zealand Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
• Best Practice and Research Clinical Obstetrics and Gynaecology
• BJOG
• BMC Pregnancy and Childbirth
• Case Reports in Obstetrics and Gynecology
• Contemporary OB/GYN
• Current Obstetrics and Gynecology Reports
• European Journal of Obstetrics Gynecology and Reproductive Biology
• Fertility and Sterility
• Infectious Diseases in Obstetrics and Gynecology
• Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Canada
• Journal of Pregnancy
• Journal of Assisted Reproduction and Genetics
• Obstetrics and Gynecology Clinics of North America
• Obstetrics and Gynecology International
• Obstetrics Gynaecology and Reproductive Medicine
• Placenta
• Pregnancy Hypertension
• Seminars in Fetal and Neonatal Medicine

• Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Women's Health -  Up-to-Date  
• Obstetrics and Gynaecology - ClinicalKey
• Obstetrics and Gynaecology - BMJ Best Practice

** Onsite Access Only **

Search across our Full-Text Book Collections.

• Obstetrics / Perinatology / Midwifery - Springer Medical Collection

Follow the below instructions to access the books from offsite with your OpenAthens logon. 

1. Select Log in in the top right corner of the screen
2. Select Access via your Institution
3. Enter  Goulburn Valley Health and search
4. Click on Goulburn Valley Health
5.  Input your OpenAthens logon to gain access

• Obstetrics and Gynaecology - ClinicalKey
• Embryology - ClinicalKey

• O&G Procedures -  ClinicalKey
• Obstetric Procedural Videos - Access Medicine  

** Onsite Access Only **